28 Comments
author
Nov 22, 2022·edited Nov 22, 2022Author

For META employees the steps to easily get the info that the sheet needs:

1. Go to Schwab > Equity Awards > Equity Details https://client.schwab.com/app/accounts/equityawards/#/equityTodayView

2. Check “Show All Historical Awards”

3. Click “Export” in the top right to access the raw csv

Expand full comment

It could just be my naivety, but a quick terms guide of some sort for noobs might be very helpful!

Expand full comment
Nov 22, 2022Liked by Andre Nader

Thanks for this, it's a great start!

I had an issue where current value of total unvested RSUs are #N/A due to "Function GOOGLEFINANCE parameter 1 value is invalid." - looking at hidden "New Calculations (DONT EDIT)" sheet, it seemed one of the refresher grant is missing Stock Ticker. This was fixed by just changing the order of problematic refresher entries in "Insert Data Here" sheet (i.e., I originally had New Hire Grant, 2020 refresher, 2021 refresher in order; 2020 refresher was the problem, and when I deleted them the issue went away; so I just added 2020 after 2021 and everything worked as normal)

Not sure what the issue was but just flagging!

Expand full comment
Nov 22, 2022Liked by Andre Nader

I like it. Although it's a painful reminder of how much I leaned into diamond hands mindset :).

Expand full comment
author
Nov 27, 2022·edited Nov 27, 2022Author

One issue I am trying to figure out if shares that vest pre-IPO. Uber as an example. They IPO for $45 in May 2019. Employees had a lock up period that started 180 days after that on November 6th 2019 with an opening price of $25.58. Taxes are based on the $45 but for "diversification vs hold" it makes sense to use the date and price after the lock up period.

Tricky.

Expand full comment
author

Based on feedback I duplicated the two dashboards for now with the ability to enter a single "tax %". Might try to see if there is a way to combine the visuals into a single version. You can copy the updated version here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1A13a88nEgoEk6bDYj9NEsjIeDilbLH1BsqZ8Ci0mlOo/edit?usp=sharing

Expand full comment
author

Really good feedback and bug catching!

Based on testing from y'all I updated the original sheet to no longer hide column "e" in the "Insert Data" sheet where the stock ticker was populated. This was getting accidentally getting pasted over without people realizing.

There was also a bug in the "Annual RSU Value by Grant" chart where the pivot table populating it was filtering out dates. I removed any filters. (If you don't want to create a new copy of the google sheet you can unhide the "Calculations 3 (DONT EDIT)" and edit the pivot table in column "K" and just delete the entire filter section at the bottom.

Expand full comment

This is great work Andre. How did you come up with 2023 Projected Refresher? I mean did you had a formula based on rating?

Expand full comment

1. For people like me who've followed your advice of selling each vest only starting X date (say in 2021) and have held onto previous vests (New hire etc.), is there an option to show the Hold vs. Sell vs. Partial Sell?

2. I am actually thinking if there is value to show Grant Price vs. Vest Price vs. Today's price & and the associated values. Meta grants a certain # of RSUs based on a $ as part of PSC. Some times by the vest happens, the Value goes up (good conditions till 2021) and sometimes it drops much below (2022). It may be a good reminder to user that you were given certain $ at grant. and by the time it vests, it became this multiple and by today its this value.

Just my 2 cents. (not fully fleshed out on #2 above)

Expand full comment

I added my vest details and it works great!

I've always sold my RSUs like you have, and it's vindicating to see my total value of diversification has never gone below the total value of holding!

Expand full comment

This is great Andre! Thank you very much.

For some reason, not all categories of "Vest description" are showing up for me in the "Annual RSU Value by Grant" chart.

Only 2 out of 5 categories are showing up. I edited the description for the ones showing up to remove spaces etc but didn't work.

Expand full comment