10 Comments
author

The two apps I am in the middle of testing:

Monarch: A Premium modern budget and investment tracker. It runs $14.99 per month and there are a lot of things I really like about it. Still some pure budgeting gaps in how I like to manage my cash flow but it is awesome to see the progress in this space. Really enjoy the forecasting of recurring income and expenses. https://www.monarchmoney.com/referral/j9nq27cdkr (You get an extended 30 day trial with this link vs the standard 7, i'll also get an extra free month if you end up purchasing).

Pylon: This is a different beast. Super interesting app that combines what Monarch has in many ways with an actual CFP you can reach out to, setup time with, and ask in-line questions. $49 per month. Really liked being able to have a CFP look over my actual expenses and suggest changes to my budget and how to better structure my goals (FIRE, relocation, educational saving). They also do a lot of very very interesting things around shared account access. Where each member in your family can have an account (Monarch has this piece) but you can also give specific access permissions to your personal accountant, cfp, financial coach... Interesting approach coming from a different angel than most other with the CFP built in, similar to New Retirement but focused on the younger mid-career high earner. https://www.hellopylon.com/.

(Non-Sponsored)

Expand full comment
Oct 7, 2022Liked by Andre Nader

Thanks for making a post about double dipping 401k after tax converted to roth. I recently changed jobs and that post educated me about this feature to be able to contribute more to Roth

Expand full comment

Do you have any experience with Tiller? I want to start tracking & budgeting and am researching different solutions. YNAB seems very established and well reviewed, but I am also fascinated by the spreadsheet integration of Tiller. Would love to know if people have any experience with it.

Expand full comment

Ooh interesting on the apps you’re testing. I’m a long time you need a budget user and use wealthfront for some projections. I also pull out a spreadsheet or two. The one thing I haven’t found a good solution is to modeling out the costs of kids. For example, we’ll only need to pay full time childcare for a couple of years. Other than manually accounting for those medium term costs I haven’t seen a solution that covers that. Any apps that you’ve seen cover these costs?

Expand full comment